New Member Nominated to OSHRC

Jan. 2, 2001
The White House nominated Sarah McCraken Fox to serve on the\r\nOccupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC) for a term\r\nexpiring April 27, 2005.


The White House nominated Sarah McCraken Fox to serve on the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC) for a term expiring April 27, 2005, according to the Congressional Record.

Fox was nominated to fill the seat vacated by Stuart Weisberg, whose nomination to the three member commission was withdrawn Dec. 15 following the expiration of his recess appointment.

Fox has been serving as a member of the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) as a recess appointee herself, after being appointed to the NLRB by President Clinton in February 1996 and confirmed by the Senate in November 1997 for a term that expired on Dec. 16, 1999.

Prior to her NLRB nomination, Fox worked for the Senate Labor & Human Resources Committee as chief labor counsel for the Democratic staff from 1990 to 1994, and as minority chief labor counsel from 1995 to February 1996. From 1982 to 1990, she was counsel to the Bricklayers and Allied Craftsmen.

OSHRC member Gary Vissher left his spot on the commission earlier in December, leaving Weisberg and Thomasina Rogers as its two members.

President Clinton acted and nominated Fox before Rogers became the sole member on the commission.

A minimum of two commissioners is necessary in order to conduct reviews.

by Virginia Sutcliffe

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of EHS Today, create an account today!