AIHA Announces its 2007 Award Winners

The American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) recently announced that Paul Hewett, Howard Cohen, Nick Yin, Shelley Wheeling-Park, Martha Waters and Nam Won Paik are among its 2007 award winners.

AIHA will recognize these members – as well as the winner of the President's Award, which has yet to be announced – at the American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition (AIHce) 2007. AIHce 2007 will be held June 2-7 in Philadelphia.

Recipients of AIHA awards demonstrate exceptional accomplishments and provide significant contributions to the industrial hygiene and occupational and environmental health and safety profession.

“It is my pleasure to acknowledge AIHA award recipients who have performed with dedication and commitment to enhance the industrial hygiene profession,” said AIHA President Frank Renshaw, Ph.D., CIH, CSP. “The winners of these awards deserve this recognition by their peers as a result of their extraordinary accomplishments.”

This year's AIHA award recipients are:

  • Paul Hewett, Ph.D., CIH – Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award
    • Hewett has made significant contributions to the profession through his leadership in exposure and risk assessment. Hewett’s most recent technical contribution has been the development of Bayesian Decision Analysis (BDA) tools to be used with the AIHA Exposure Assessment Strategy. BDA is a complex and powerful statistical tool that Hewett has successfully distilled into presentations and computer tools for use by the practicing industrial hygienist.
      The Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award will be presented June 7 at the AIHA annual business meeting.
  • Howard Cohen, Ph.D., CIH – Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award
    • Cohen is a professor and chairperson of the Occupational Safety and Health Management Department of the University of New Haven. Cohen most recently served as a member of the Institute of Medicine (IOM) Review Committee, which is evaluating the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health efforts to update the criteria used for anthropometric sizing for respirator selection. He also is a member of the IOM committee developing guidelines for respiratory protection against avian flu.
      The Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award will be presented June 4 at the AIHce 2007 general session.
  • Nick Yin, CIH, CSP – AIHA Distinguished Service Award
    • Yin has contributed than 30 years of service to the industrial hygiene profession and was instrumental in establishing a solid relationship between AIHA and the Chinese Occupational Safety and Health Association (COSHA). He has been serving as AIHA’s ambassador to China since 1996. Yin also is honored for the creation of the AIHA Methods Information Exchange Network.
      The AIHA Distinguished Service Award will be presented June 7 at the AIHA annual business meeting.
  • Shelley Wheeling-Park, MPH, CHMM, CSP, CIH – Kusnetz Award
    • Wheeling-Park provides services to ensure the health and safety protection of more than 4,500 employees at Kaiser Permanente. Her responsibilities span a breadth of services and include oversight of the industrial hygiene program, waste management, transportation of hazardous materials, safety inspections and audits, JCAHO Environment of Care program, construction safety management and various environmental health and safety programs.
      The Kusnetz Award will be presented June 7 at the AIHA annual business meeting.
  • Martha Waters, Ph.D., CIH – Alice Hamilton Award
    • Waters’ long list of varied work experience, publications, committee service and honors shows the breadth of her knowledge and expertise in the field. She has been active in the profession and a mentor and contributor at many levels.
      The Alice Hamilton Award will be presented June 4 at the AIHce 2007 general session.
  • Nam Won Paik, Dr.PH., CIH – William P. Yant Award
    • Won Paik is the founder of the Korean Industrial Hygiene Association and a leading figure in the promotion and development of occupational hygiene worldwide. Paik is a scholar, a global leader, an innovator and a person who has always practiced industrial hygiene according to the American Board of Industrial Hygiene Code of Ethics.
      The William P. Yant Award will be presented June 4 at the AIHce 2007 general session.

The President’s Award is given to an individual, task force, special interest group or local section for outstanding contribution to efforts to achieve the mission of AIHA during the presidency year. The award will be announced and presented June 6 at the AIHA President’s Reception.

TAGS: Archive
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.