3M to Acquire Aearo Technologies

Minnesota-based 3M announced it will acquire Aearo Technologies Inc., a global leader in the personal protection industry with brand names including E-A-R, Peltor, AOSafety and SafeWaze. The acquisition significantly will expand 3M's occupational health and environmental safety platform by adding hearing protection, eyewear and fall protection to company's existing line of respiratory products. “Aearo's knowledgeable and experienced employees, along with its market-leading products and brands, will broaden our presence in the large and growing safety market,” said Julie L. Bushman, 3M vice president and general manager.

Kimberly-Clark Professional

Kimberly-Clark Professional announced plans to unveil a new global brand identity that will include Kleenex, Scott, Kimcare, WypAll, KleenGuard and Kimtech Brands. The comprehensive global identity will feature a unifying approach with consistent designs for all communications materials and a contemporary parent brand logo to deliver leading health, hygiene and productivity solutions.

In other Kimberly-Clark news, the company's San Antonio manufacturing facility recently celebrated its 30th anniversary. The facility donated $10,000 to the Boys & Girls Clubs of San Antonio and created a program to teach children the benefits of good health and hygiene habits.

Industrial Scientific

Kent McElhattan, chairman and CEO of Industrial Scientific Corp., recently was elected to the National Safety Council (NSC) board of directors. McElhattan will serve a 2-year term on the board's Finance & Audit and Strategic Planning committees. “Mr. McElhattan's passion for safety, evident in Industrial Scientific's mission to preserve human life, brings a level of industry expertise and leadership to the board,” says NSC Chairman Joseph Ucciferro.

Industrial Scientific also was named a finalist in the Pittsburgh Business Times' Manufacturer of the Year award, a program honoring Pittsburgh-area manufacturers that have achieved growth through innovation and process improvements.

  • NSC Award

    Dr. J. Nigel Ellis, founder and CEO of Dynamic Scientific Controls and its Delaware-based division Ellis Fall Safety Solutions, received the National Safety Council's (NSC) Distinguished Service to Safety Award. As a pioneer in fall protection, Ellis introduced new industry standards for truck drivers, longshoremen and construction workers, with technological contributions including self-retracting lanyards, horizontal lifelines and harnesses without waist belts.

    “Dr. Ellis understands today's issues and has made tremendous contributions. We are honored to present him with this award,” said Alan C. McMillian, NSC CEO and president.

  • New BCSP Officers

    The Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP) elected the following 2008 board officers: Paul S. Adams of Applied Safety & Ergonomics, president; Bradley D. Giles of the Washington Division of URS, vice president; and Linda M. Tapp of Crown Safety LLC, secretary/treasurer. Edward J. Jones of ISO and David B. West of Science Applications International Corp. were elected as new BCSP board directors.

  • NGWA Award

    William Glenn, a senior associate geologist with ENSR, received the Individual Safety Advocate Award from the National Ground Water Association (NGWA). This award recognizes an individual who promotes, improves, maintains and enhances safety in daily working operations.

  • Shermco Industries

    Texas-based Shermco Industries, a provider of electrical maintenance and design services, recently hired Roger Boos as the company's new corporate safety engineer.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.