19 Safety Professionals Honored for Outstanding Service

In a ceremony that took place at the opening convocation of the\r\nNational Safety Council's Congress & Expo, 19 safety professionals were awarded the council's Distinguished\r\nService to Safety Award.


In a ceremony that took place at the opening convocation of the National Safety Council''s (NSC) 88th Congress & Expo in Orlando, Fla., 19 safety professionals were awarded NSC''s Distinguished Service to Safety Award.

The award is the highest honor bestowed on an individual by the NSC in recognition of outstanding service to the field of safety.

Recipients are selected for the award by their peers and honored for their long-standing commitment to public safety.

This year''s recipients are:

Nominated by the NSC''s Business and Industry Division

  • Herbert "Safety Herb" Everett, director of safety and workers'' compensation, Westmark Hotels, Anchorage, Alaska
  • Richard Moscato, senior manager of corporate safety, Sara Lee Corp., Chicago, Ill.

Nominated by the Campus Safety Division

  • Ronald Angus, assistant director of risk management services, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
  • Susan Magor, director of environmental health and safety, Concordia University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Mary Mellein, manager, University of Georgia Safety Service
  • Donald Robinson, director of environmental health and safety, University of Massachusetts
  • Fay Thompson, director of environmental health and safety, University of Minnesota

Nomiated by the Chapter Relations Division

  • James F. Hughes, director, general education, New Jersey State Safety Council, Cranford, N.J.
  • Edward Ryska, functional officer in charge, Eagle Loss Control Consultants and director of technical services, Kemper Major Construction, Kemper Employers Group, Petaluma, Calif.

Nominated by the Community Safety Division

  • Frank S. Fitzgerald, executive vice president, Screen Manufacturers Association, Palm Beach, Fla.
  • Karen L. Westbrook, director of program development and strategic communications, Office of Attorney General, Springfield, Ill.

Nominated by the Construction Division

  • Allan St. John Holt, chairman and CEO, Hascom Network Ltd., Southampton, England
  • John C. Langford, Construction Safety Consultant, AON Corp., Chicago, Ill.

Nominated by the Educational Resource Division

  • Leanna Depue, director, Missouri Safety Center, Missouri State University, Warrensburg, Mo.

Nominated by the Highway Traffic Safety Division

  • James I. Taylor, professor, Department of Civil Engineering, University of Notre Dame

Nominated by the Motor Transportation Division

  • Nancy D. Schulz, midwest region safety manager, Laidlaw, Lawrence, Kan.

Nominated by the Utilities Division

  • Randy Brown, manager, Environment & Safety Compliance, United Water Resources, Harrington Park, N.J.
  • Carl Griffith, safety director, Trech''It Inc., McHenry, Ill.
  • Robert A. Neperud, loss control project coordinator, Federated Rural Electrical Insurance Co., Lenexa, Kansas

by Virginia Sutcliffe

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.