Delta's Marshall Named New Chairman of ATA's Safety Council

John Marshall, of Delta Air Lines, will be responsible for maintaining the council's focus on identifying and prioritizing key safety issues.

John Marshall, vice president - Corporate Safety & Compliance at Delta Air Lines, recently assumed responsibilities as chairman of the Air Transport Association (ATA) Safety Council. Marshall previously served as the council's vice chairman.

"Safety continues to remain our industry's top priority and there is much at hand that requires our attention," Marshall said. "I particularly am honored to be able to serve as chairman during this period of great challenge and opportunity for the aviation industry."

In his new role, Marshall will be responsible for establishing an agenda that keeps the council's focus on identifying and prioritizing key safety issues that impact both passenger and cargo air carrier operations. The ATA Safety Council provides assistance to member airlines by developing and monitoring corrective actions concerning flight and ground incidents/accidents, analyzing and sharing accident prevention information, and working with various federal agencies to resolve chronic safety problems. The council also works to ensure ATA's involvement in all forums on aviation safety and related disciplines.

At Delta, Marshall has responsibility for five departments including Flight Safety, Industrial Safety, Environmental Services, Emergency Planning and Operations, and Safety Analysis and Quality Assurance. He joined Delta in 1997 after 26 years with the U.S. Air Force. His Air Force assignments included duties as a fighter pilot, specialist assistant to the Air Force vice chief of staff, fighter squadron commander, base commander and fighter wing commander. During his career, he flew F-4s, F-15s, A-10s and F-16s, as well as a variety of other aircraft.

The ATA is the trade association for leading U.S. airlines. ATA members transport more than 95 percent of all the passenger and cargo traffic in the United States.

edited by Sandy Smith ([email protected])

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.