AOHC: Achievements in Occupational and Environmental Medicine Recognized

The American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM) presented five annual awards to four physicians and the authors of a scientific paper on the associations between creosote, coal tar and cancer. The award ceremony took place at the American Occupational Health Conference (AOHC), this week in Atlanta.

Elias A. Shaptini, M.D., MPH, received the 2003 William S. Knudsen Award, the most prestigious honor given by ACOEM. Shaptini was recognized for his distinguished achievements in occupational and environmental medicine as a leader in local, regional and national occupational medicine organizations. Shaptini served as president of ACOEM from 1991-1992, and before his retirement, was vice president, Health and Environment, for American Resources Co. in Detroit.

The Robert Kehoe Award of Merit was given to Jorma Rantanen, Ph.D., director of the Finnish Institute of Occupational Health in Helsinki, Finland. He is the author of more than 400 research report and has published several medical texts on medical biochemistry, radiation biology, toxicology and occupational health. Rantanen was honored for his 30 years of service as founding director general of the Finnish Institute of Occupational Health and his chairmanship of the global Network of WHO Collaborating Centres in Occupational Health.

Susan O. Cassidy, M.D., J.D., received the 2003 Meritorious Service Award. Cassidy, corporate medical director for Aventis Pharmaceuticals in Bridgewater, N.J. She was recognized for her achievements as a member of the ACOEM board of directors, and chair of the Committee on Ethical Practice and of the Telemedicine Task Force, and as ACOEM's representative to the ANSI International Advisory Committee on Protection of Personal Data and Privacy. Cassidy also served on ACOEM task forces dealing with issues such as confidentiality and the Americans with Disabilities Act.

The 2003 Health Achievement Award in Occupational Medicine goes to Catherine M. Baase, M.D., global director of Health Services for Dow Chemical Co. Baase was honored for her role in conducting research and developing programs on health and productivity, and for her contributions as a member of ACOEM's Special Committee on Health and Productivity.

Jonathan Borak, M.D.; Greg Sirianni, MS; Howard Cohen, Ph.D., CIH; Susan Chemerynski, BA; and Frans Jongeneelen, Ph.D.; received the 2003 Kammer Merit in Authorship Award for their study, "Biological v. Ambient Exposure Monitoring of Creosote Facility Workers." The study was published in the April 2002 Journal of Occupational and Environmental Medicine. The award honors the most outstanding article published the previous year in the journal.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.