NSC: Alcan, DynMcDermott Honored

Marking the first time that two companies have received the award, the National Safety Council earlier this week announced that Montreal-based Alcan Inc. and New Orleans-based DynMcDermott Petroleum Operations Co. are the 2006 recipients of the Robert W. Campbell Award.

Alcan CEO Richard Evans and DynMcDermott CEO Robert McGough accepted the award during the opening session of the National Safety Council’s 94th Annual Congress and Expo in San Diego.

“In many ways our 2006 recipients appear to be very different, yet they are the same in their commitment to making safety, health and environmental management a priority at every level of their operations,” said Mei-Li Lin, executive director of research and statistical services for the National Safety Council. “We are thrilled to see the power of [EHS] reach beyond our borders and transcend company size to benefit employees, communities and sustainable corporate performance.”

The international award for business excellence recognizes companies that successfully integrate health, safety and environmental management into their overall business operations. The award, co-founded by the National Safety Council and Exxon Mobil Corp., is supported by a network of 20 global partner organizations.

This is the first year that the Robert W. Campbell Award – which was launched in 2004 – has been awarded to two companies. An international panel of independent reviewers examined each application in a rigorous assessment process.

Different Companies, Similar Visions

Alcan is one of the world’s leading aluminum and packaging companies, employing 65,000 people in 61 countries and regions and posting revenues of $20.3 billion in 2005. According to the company, Alcan “incorporates world-class technology and operations in bauxite mining, alumina processing, primary metal smelting, power generation, aluminum fabrication, engineered solutions as well as flexible and specialty packaging.”

Evans explained that Alcan’s vision is “to be a recognized leader of safety, health and environment excellence in everything we do and everywhere we operate.”

“Alcan is greatly honored to receive the Robert W. Campbell Award for worldwide excellence in EHS programming and performance through its EHS First management system,” Evan said. “EHS First is more than a system and more than world-class results. It represents an attitude, mindset and acceptance of responsibility and accountability. It demands a willingness to change, a promise to do the right thing, and a commitment to be an EHS believer and champion.”

With approximately 600 employees, DynMcDermott is the management and operating contractor for the Department of Energy Strategic Petroleum Reserve and is responsible for operating and maintaining government-owned facilities. Suzanne Broussard, safety and health manager at DynMcDermott, credits upper management and its comprehension of safety’s importance for DynMcDermott’s success.

“Management understands exactly what the safety programs are and how they work,” Broussard said. “Our philosophy is to put health and safety first in the budget because our employees have a right to a safe workplace.” DynMcDermott is a 2005 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award recipient.

McMillan: Award Winners are Brave, Bold, Brilliant

National Safety Council President and CEO Alan McMillan applauded Alcan and DynMcDermott for being brave, bold and brilliant in their leadership and commitment to making safety and health a part of its corporate culture.

“Our changing world is presenting new safety and health issues and challenges in every industry,” McMillan said. “It takes bold, innovative leaders like Alcan and DynMcDermott to demonstrate that business excellence begins with a steadfast commitment to safety, health and environment.”

The inaugural Campbell award winner in 2004 was Noble Corp., a Texas-based provider of drilling services for the oil and gas industry. Johnson & Johnson, the world’s most comprehensive and broadly based manufacturer of health care products, was the 2005 recipient.

Alcan and DynMcDermott—along with previous Campbell Award recipients—have agreed to share their experiences with other companies in an effort to advance EHS as a key corporate value around the world. In addition, the National Safety Council noted that these winning management systems will be incorporated into case studies that will be used at top business and engineering schools worldwide.

TAGS: Archive
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.