Skip navigation
Deborah Hersman

National Safety Council Taps NTSB Chairman as New President

The National Safety Council has named Deborah Hersman as its next president and CEO. Hersman, the chairman of the National Transportation Safety Board, will continue to lead NTSB until April 25.

“Debbie is a recognized leader in safety, with a frontline understanding of the value of protecting human life through thoughtful attention and management of risk,” said Jeff Woodbury, chairman of the National Safety Council’s board of directors. “Her proven leadership and expertise made her the ideal candidate to take the council successfully into its second century.”

Hersman has served on the National Transportation Safety Board since 2004, when President Bush first appointed her. President Obama appointed her as chairman of NTSB in 2009, 2011 and 2013, and the Senate unanimously confirmed her.

Prior to that, Hersman was a senior advisor to the U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation from 1999 to 2004 and served as staff director and senior legislative aide to former U.S. Rep. Bob Wise, D. -W.Va., from 1992 to 1999.

“As one of the nation's most visionary advocates for safety, she has focused our attention and actions on addressing a variety of transportation safety issues, including fatigue and distraction in all modes of transportation, eliminating impaired driving, improving child passenger safety and helping accident victims and their families,” said NTSB Vice Chairman Christopher Hart. “I know I speak for the whole agency when I say we will miss Chairman Hersman's passion, dedication and leadership, but we look forward to working with her in her new capacity, as she continues to make our country a safer place for everyone."

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.