Skip navigation

NSC Names 38 Industry Leader Award Winners

The National Safety Council recognizes 38 winners with its 2012 Industry Leader Award based on low total incidence rates and employee work hours.

Thirty-eight organizations across the nation now have a reason to celebrate: The National Safety Council (NSC) has bestowed them with the NSC 2012 Industry Leader Award for safety performance in their industries.

As a component of the NSC Occupational Awards Program, which recognizes outstanding safety achievements of NSC members, the Industry Leader Award winners are selected based on North American Industry Classification System code, lowest total incidence rate and employee work hours.

The 38 organizations honored with the 2012 Industry Leader Award are:

  • Advanced Aromatics LLC, Baytown, Texas
  • AMECO Worldwide Operations, Greenvillle, S.C.
  • AmQuip Crane Rental LLC, Trevose, Pa.
  • AstraZeneca, Newark Site, Newark, Del.
  • Babcock and Wilcox, Charlotte, N.C.
  • Brown and Caldwell, Environmental Engineers & Consultants 
  • CH2M HILL, Wastewater Treatment Plant, Walla Walla, Wash.
  • Chrysler Group LLC, Minneapolis Parts Distribution Center - UAW Local, Plymouth, Minn.
  • City of San Marcos, Police, San Marcos, Texas
  • CMC Sheet Metal Inc., Capitol Heights, Md.
  • Deere & Co., Moline, Ill.
  • ExxonMobil Chemicals, Baytown Chemical Plant, Baytown, Texas
  • ExxonMobil Chemical Co., Beaumont Chemical Plant, Beaumont, Texas
  • Flowserve Corporation, Flow Control Division, Raleigh, N.C.
  • GEHC CAMS Jupiter Facility, Jupiter, Fla.
  • General Dynamics AIS Beavercreek, Dayton, Ohio
  • General Motors, CAMI, Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
  • General Motors, Customer Care and Aftersales - WHQ - Grand Blanc, Mich.
  • General Motors, Mexico Headquarters, Ciudad de Mexico, Distrito Federal
  • General Motors, Pontiac Engineering GMPT, Pontiac, Mich.
  • Hammond Lumber Co., Farmington, Maine
  • Hanover County, Communications, Hanover, Va.
  • Highland Industries Inc., Cheraw, S.C.
  • John Deere Parts Distribution Center - Milan, Ill.
  • Johns Manville, Scottsboro Plant, Scottsboro, Ala.
  • Lockheed Martin Missiles & Fire Control - Orlando, Orlando, Fla.
  • NANA Management Services, Red Dog Camp, Red Dog, Alaska
  • Nexteer Automotive, Plant 68, Juarez, Mexico
  • Nexteer Automotive, Paris Technical Center, Paris, France
  • PowerSouth Energy Cooperative, Andalusia, Ala.
  • RGL Holdings Inc., RGL Holdings, Inc., Green Bay, Wis.
  • Savannah River Nuclear Solutions, Savannah River National Laboratory, Aiken, S.C.
  • Tetra Tech EMI, Kansas City, Mo.
  • Tellepsen, Houston, Texas
  • Union Tank Car Co., Western Area, Ridgefield Wash.
  • URS, Caterpillar Bldg. AC&H, Peoria, Ill.
  • URS Federal Services, Blue Grass ACWA, Richmond, Ky.
  • URS Federal Services, TOCDF, Stockton, Utah

Several of these companies, including Flowserve, Caterpillar, CH2M Hill, Deere & Co., ExxonMobil Chemical Co. and Lockheed Martin Missiles & Fire Control also are past winners of EHS Today’s America’s Safest Companies program. The 2012 ASC winners will be unveiled in September, in conjunction with the inaugural America’s Safest Companies Conference.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.