19 Safety Professionals Honored for Outstanding Service

Oct. 16, 2000
In a ceremony that took place at the opening convocation of the\r\nNational Safety Council's Congress & Expo, 19 safety professionals were awarded the council's Distinguished\r\nService to Safety Award.


In a ceremony that took place at the opening convocation of the National Safety Council''s (NSC) 88th Congress & Expo in Orlando, Fla., 19 safety professionals were awarded NSC''s Distinguished Service to Safety Award.

The award is the highest honor bestowed on an individual by the NSC in recognition of outstanding service to the field of safety.

Recipients are selected for the award by their peers and honored for their long-standing commitment to public safety.

This year''s recipients are:

Nominated by the NSC''s Business and Industry Division

  • Herbert "Safety Herb" Everett, director of safety and workers'' compensation, Westmark Hotels, Anchorage, Alaska
  • Richard Moscato, senior manager of corporate safety, Sara Lee Corp., Chicago, Ill.

Nominated by the Campus Safety Division

  • Ronald Angus, assistant director of risk management services, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
  • Susan Magor, director of environmental health and safety, Concordia University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Mary Mellein, manager, University of Georgia Safety Service
  • Donald Robinson, director of environmental health and safety, University of Massachusetts
  • Fay Thompson, director of environmental health and safety, University of Minnesota

Nomiated by the Chapter Relations Division

  • James F. Hughes, director, general education, New Jersey State Safety Council, Cranford, N.J.
  • Edward Ryska, functional officer in charge, Eagle Loss Control Consultants and director of technical services, Kemper Major Construction, Kemper Employers Group, Petaluma, Calif.

Nominated by the Community Safety Division

  • Frank S. Fitzgerald, executive vice president, Screen Manufacturers Association, Palm Beach, Fla.
  • Karen L. Westbrook, director of program development and strategic communications, Office of Attorney General, Springfield, Ill.

Nominated by the Construction Division

  • Allan St. John Holt, chairman and CEO, Hascom Network Ltd., Southampton, England
  • John C. Langford, Construction Safety Consultant, AON Corp., Chicago, Ill.

Nominated by the Educational Resource Division

  • Leanna Depue, director, Missouri Safety Center, Missouri State University, Warrensburg, Mo.

Nominated by the Highway Traffic Safety Division

  • James I. Taylor, professor, Department of Civil Engineering, University of Notre Dame

Nominated by the Motor Transportation Division

  • Nancy D. Schulz, midwest region safety manager, Laidlaw, Lawrence, Kan.

Nominated by the Utilities Division

  • Randy Brown, manager, Environment & Safety Compliance, United Water Resources, Harrington Park, N.J.
  • Carl Griffith, safety director, Trech''It Inc., McHenry, Ill.
  • Robert A. Neperud, loss control project coordinator, Federated Rural Electrical Insurance Co., Lenexa, Kansas

by Virginia Sutcliffe

Sponsored Recommendations

ISO 45001: Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems (OHSMS)

March 28, 2024
ISO 45001 certification – reduce your organizational risk and promote occupational health and safety (OHS) by working with SGS to achieve certification or migrate to the new standard...

Want to Verify your GHG Emissions Inventory?

March 28, 2024
With the increased focus on climate change, measuring your organization’s carbon footprint is an important first action step. Our Green House Gas (GHG) verification services provide...

Download Free ESG White Paper

March 28, 2024
The Rise and Challenges of ESG – Your Journey to Enhanced Sustainability, Brand and Investor Potential

Free Webinar: Mining & ESG: The Sustainability Mandate

March 28, 2024
Participants in this webinar will understand the business drivers and challenges of ESG and sustainability performance, the 5 steps of the ESG and sustainability cycle, and prioritized...

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of EHS Today, create an account today!