NSC Announces 2008 Distinguished Service to Safety Awards

National Safety Council (NSC) President and CEO Janet Froetscher and Chairman Joseph J. Ucciferro, Ph.D., announced the recipients of the 2008 Distinguished Service to Safety Awards during the opening session of NSC’s 96th Annual Congress and Expo in Anaheim, Calif., on Sept. 22.
This award is NSC’s highest honor for an individual safety professional, given in recognition of outstanding service to the field of safety and health. The recipients are:

Stewart C. Burkhammer, principle, Burkhammer Consulting Services. Burkhammer is a dedicated advocate for safety and health in the field of construction, and is a friend of NSC’s construction division.

W. Ben Hart, CMSP, mine safety program manager, Florida Department of Environmental Protection. Hart is a renowned expert in mine safety and training and has been an active NSC volunteer since 1990, most recently with its business and industry division.

John Garzich, manager of corporate health and safety, First Energy Corp. Garzich is a longtime leader in contractor safety and health and is a volunteer with NSC’s utilities division.

Rose A. McMurray, chief safety officer and assistant administrator, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. McMurry was recognized for proving to be an outstanding professional in transportation safety. She is an active volunteer with NSC’s motor transportation/transportation safety division.

John J. Tulipana, Jr., safety chairman, International Brotherhood of Teamsters Local 2727. Tulipana is an established voice in industrial safety and health and is a volunteer with NSC’s labor division.

TAGS: Safety
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.