rising stars safety Thinkstock

NSC 2017: 43 Young Safety Professionals Recognized for Extraordinary Contributions to Workplace Safety

The National Safety Council recognized its 2017 Class of Rising Stars of Safety at the National Safety Congress in Indianapolis.

The National Safety Council announced its eighth class of NSC Rising Stars of Safety – a group of future leaders dedicated to making workplaces safer. The 43 honorees have promoted a cycle of continuous improvement within their organizations and created initiatives focused on measurable outcomes.

“Our Rising Stars are leading the way on safety by taking action every day,” said Deborah A.P. Hersman, president and CEO of NSC. “Protecting their co-workers means everyone can perform their job the right way: safely. We are honored to celebrate their dedication and success.”

The honorees for the Class of 2017 includes the following young safety professionals, who will be formally recognized during the 2017 NSC Congress & Expo in Indianapolis Sep. 23 - Sep. 29:

  • Alisha Adams, Flatiron Construction, field safety representative
  • Amber Johnson, Memoria Hermann Health System, emergency management planner;
  • Ashley Mitchell, ASP, DuPont, SHE specialist;
  • Audrey Chennault, the Chemours Co., EHS senior consultant;
  • Awadh Fazal, Coca-Cola Beverages Pakistan Ltd., HR business leader health and safety;
  • Azure Hills-Wilson, First Student, senior location safety manager;
  • Bassma Hegazy, Egyptian Liquified Natural Gas, ELNG, senior HSE assistant;
  • Benjamin J. Miller, Fluor Federal Petroleum Operations, senior project safety specialist;
  • Biagi C. Borrero, Air Combat Command, Directorate of Safety, command occupational safety manager;
  • Brian C. Desiderio, USS RONALD REAGAN (CVN 76), assistant safety officer;
  • Chad Rasmussen, Medtronic PLC, senior EHS specialist;
  • Chris Osterhout, Crowley Petroleum Services, manager, operations integrity;
  • Cynthia Champion, Martin Resource Management Corp., EHS specialist;
  • Danielle Cappello, Walt Disney World Parks and Restorts, safety professional;
  • David Smith, Holly Frontier Refining, principle safety advisor;
  • Derek Bell, KCP&L, senior director corporate safety;
  • Faiq Rabbani, Engro Fertilizers, manager;
  • Ichaya Dhungel, Eaton Corp., EHS manager;
  • Jacob Krzystowczyk, Albemarle, corporate industrial hygienist;
  • Jarred O’Dell, Syracuse Utilities Inc., safety director;
  • Jeff Winter, Grantek Systems Integration, director, safety practice;
  • Jennifer Deblas Mabry, AECOM, director SH&E;
  • Jeremiah G. Wallace, Alliant Energy, safety specialist II;
  • Jonathon Holt, Boeing 777X EHS, occupational health and safety specialist;
  • Joseph W. Kauffman, Horizon Services Inc., director – risk and safety;
  • Kara Jo Barger, FCA, EHS specialist, powertrain operations;
  • Kelly Mikkelson, CRSP, Environmental Resources Management, Canada business unit HS leader;
  • Lacey Ann Kastel, Owens Corning, EHS leader;
  • Lorenzo R. Drummond, Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc., manager, EH&S;
  • Mahmood Khamis, Aluminium Bahrain, SHE coordinator;
  • Meghan Shambach, Harsco Industrial, regional EH&S manager;
  • Meredith Rae Bruick, the Dow Chemical Co., EH&S operations leader;
  • Michael Dardar, CSP, Blackhawk Speciality Tools LLC, director QHSE;
  • Miranda Lynn Conrad, Terrebonne Parish Consolidated Government, safety and administrative technician;
  • Nathan Flowers, American Bridge, safety engineer;
  • Nathan Slavin, the Bozzuto Group, director of safety;
  • Nerisha Madrazo, the Estee Lauder Companies, manager, global retail EHS;
  • Randel Wright, ExxonMobil (URC), SSH&E coordinator;
  • Travis Parker, Lee Mechanical Contractors Inc., safety director;
  • Travis J. Keeney, Tri-City Electric Co., director of safety & training;
  • Tyler Don Asher, Performance Contracting Group, regional safety specialist;
  • Umar Farooq, NOMAC, HSE engineer;
  • Zeeshan Qureshi, SafeWork NSW, state inspector – process safety. 
TAGS: Safety
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.