Ehstoday 10768 Scholarship

Amazon, NSC Team Up for Women in Safety Scholarships

Nov. 12, 2019
Sponsorship to bolster NSC initiatives.

With only 19% of safety industry workers are women. The National Safety Council (NSC) and Amazon are seeking to shift that needle with a bolster in scholarship programs.

Amazon has given $125,000 to the safety organization to support three NSC initiatives: the Council’s Marion Martin Award, Women in Safety Scholarship program and Women’s Division.

"Innovation in the safety industry thrives when diverse people, including women, bring their voices to the table," said Heather MacDougall, vice president of Worldwide Workplace Health and Safety at Amazon. "From hourly associates to upper management and leadership, women have critical roles at Amazon and significantly strengthen our safety program. We're proud to support the NSC mission to recognize and provide resources to women in the safety industry."

Women in safety tend to earn less than their male colleagues, and they account for only 22% of those who have earned the certified safety professional designation from the Board of Certified Safety Professionals, which is considered the gold standard of safety certifications.

“Data shows that an organization with a diverse workforce is more likely to outperform those without diversity,” said Lorraine M. Martin, NSC president and CEO. “We know women are an important part of that equation. We are thrilled to partner with Amazon to ensure women are involved and supported at all levels of the safety profession. We celebrate those already working to save lives.”

Funds from the Amazon sponsorship will go toward supporting three NSC programs:

Marion Martin Award: The NSC Marion Martin Award celebrates women in safety who have achieved professional excellence in their area of specialty and helped pave the way for other women in the profession.

Women in Safety Scholarship: Awarded for the first time in 2018, the NSC Women in Safety Scholarship provides a renewable scholarship for women studying safety in the workplace, with the number of awards varying per year. In addition to the tuition scholarship, funding also is provided to attend NSC Congress and Expo – the world’s largest annual gathering of safety professionals.

Women’s Division: Formerly the NSC Women’s Caucus, the NSC Women’s Division provides an opportunity for women to network with top female safety professionals worldwide. To date, about 275 individuals participate in the NSC Women’s Division.

Those interested in recognizing an outstanding female safety professional can learn more about NSC awards here. Nominations for the Marion Martin Award will be accepted until March 27.

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of EHS Today, create an account today!