Skip navigation

NSC: Schneider Electric Receives Robert W. Campbell Award

Electric North America, a specialist in energy management, was honored with the 2009 Robert W. Campbell Award for exemplary safety and health efforts at the Oct. 26 opening session of the 97th annual NSC Congress and Expo.

“I am very honored and privileged to accept this award on behalf of the employees of Schneider Electric North America,” said Amelia Huntington of Schneider Electric, who accepted the award at the opening session. “The daily diligence of our 14,000 employees in North America has truly been inspiring and, in some instances, life-saving. I know each and every one of them is recognized in this award.”

The Campbell Award recognizes organizations that demonstrate how integration of environmental, health and safety management into business operations is a cornerstone of their corporate success. The award is sponsored by Exxon Mobile Corp.

“The Campbell Award honors organizations that demonstrate world-class operational safety practices,” NSC President and CEO Janet Froetscher said. “The people at Schneider Electric North America have an inventive and dedicated approach to employee safety that creates a successful, profitable workplace. We are pleased to honor them with this award.”

Safety, health, environment and community are the pillars of the Schneider Electric business strategy. With an active commitment to helping individuals and organizations “make the most of their energy” and a focus on making energy safe, reliable, efficient, productive and green, Schneider Electric’s employees in North America achieved sales of $3.6 billion in 2008. The organization aims for people to be safe, environmentally conscious, and healthy at work, home and play. It is a subsidiary of Schneider Electric, based in Paris, has sales of over $25 billion and operations in more than 100 countries.

Schneider Electric North America impressed the Campbell Award’s international review panel with the company’s global foundation for safety and health practices that encourages local innovation to most effectively promote EHS. The company also was praised for a seamless integration of safety procedures and mindset that protects employees on and off the job.

Campbell Award winners undergo rigorous assessments that include site visits and comprehensive evaluations of their commitment to, and implementation of, EHS practices. Award winners work with an international partnership of 21 organizations to develop case studies that illustrate their superior EHS programs and best practices, for use by top business and engineering schools worldwide.

The award is named for Robert W. Campbell, a safety pioneer and the first president of the National Safety Council. Past Campbell Award winners include Noble Corp., Johnson & Johnson, Alcan Inc., DynMcDermott Petroleum Operations, the Bahrain Petroleum Company, Fluor Hanford and Gulf Petrochemicals Industry Co.

Distinguished Service to Safety Awards

The NSC Congress and Expo opening session also honored the seven recipients of the 2009 Distinguished Service to Safety Awards. This award is the highest honor bestowed on an individual safety professional by NSC in recognition of outstanding service to the field of safety and health. Awards are presented in each of the six occupational divisions that make up the NSC membership as well as one individual award presented by the Board of Directors.

Winners of this year’s Distinguished Service to Safety Awards are:

James M. Dougherty, Chief Safety Officer/Director of Safety, Security and Enforcement, San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency, San Francisco, recognized for outstanding efforts within the Transportation Division.
Timothy J. McClain, CSP, President, T. McClain & Associates, Lathrup Village, Mich.,
recognized for outstanding efforts within the Labor Division.
Dennis Rourke, Director, Risk Management, First Data, Omaha, Neb., recognized for outstanding efforts within the Chapter Services Division.
Kenneth L. Schriner, Safety and Occupational Health Specialist, Western Area Power Administration, Montrose, Calif., recognized for outstanding efforts within the Utilities Division.
Raymond F. Wagner, President, Company Safety Inc. and Safety Training Specialist, DiVal Safety, Depew, N.Y., recognized for outstanding efforts within the Business and Industry Division.
Garland E. Whitworth, Ph.D, Director, Safety & Education (Retired) Southern Illinois Builders Association, Freeburg, Ill., recognized for outstanding efforts within the Construction Division.
James A. Wick, Global Emergency & Business Continuity Programs Manager, Intel Corp., Chandler, Ariz., recognized for outstanding efforts by NSC Board of Directors.

TAGS: Archive
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.